Ford Truck Transmission

For the best Ford Truck transmission repair estimate, come to our established shop.

The first Ford automatic transmission was designed by Borg Warner Corporation and named Ford-O-Matic. 

The three-speed Ford-O-Matic evolved into the "MX" and "FX" or Cruise-O-Matictransmissions in 1958 and the FMX in 1968. This line continued in production until 1980, when the AOD was introduced.

Other automobile manufacturers as well, such as AMC, International Harvester, Studebaker, Volvo and Jaguar, used the Borg Warner transmission with unique adaptations required for the individual applications.

Stop by or call us for for your:

Free Ford Truck Transmission repair estimate! 

We repair and repair all types of truck transmissions.

Ford Transmission Types

Automatic Transmission

  • 1950–1965 Ford-O-Matic 
  • 1958–1979 Cruise-O-Matic
  • MX/FX
  • 1968–1981 FMX—A hybrid of the FX and MX
  • 1964–1981 C4 Most small-block V8 powered cars of the 1960s and 1970s in the North American market
  • 1966–1996 C6 Most big-block V8 powered cars of the 1960s and 1970s in the North American market
  • 1974–1989 C3 Light-duty, smaller than the C4
  • 1982–1986 C5 Improved C4, with a lock-up converter
  • 1985–1994 A4LD C3 with overdrive 
  • 1989–1996 E4OD C6 with overdrive
  • 1998 4R100—Replaces the E4OD transmission
  • 1995–2001 4R44E Electronically controlled A4LD, light-duty
  • 1995–1997 4R55E Electronically controlled A4LD, heavy-duty
  • 1997–Current 5R44/5R55 Series—5-speed based on the 4R44E/4R55E, Bordeaux Transmission Lincoln LS and Ford Thunderbird Ford Falcon (Australia)
  • 2005–2010 Ford Mustang V6, GT[1]1980–1993 AOD—Ford's first 4-speed automatic transmission, based on the FMX but with a torque-splitting feature.
  • 1992–  AOD-E—Electronic AOD
  • 1993–   AOD-EW/4R70W—Strengthened AOD-E with lower 1st and 2nd gear ratios
  • 2003–4R75E/4R75WAXOD family—Van Dyke Transmission
  • 1986–1991 AXOD—4-speed transaxleFord Taurus, Lincoln Continental, Mercury Sable
  • 1991–1993 AXOD-E—4-speed electronic transaxle Ford Taurus, Lincoln Continental, Mercury Sable
  • 1994–2003 AX4S—4-speed electronic transaxle Ford Taurus, Ford Windstar, Lincoln Continental, Mercury Sable
  • 1995–2007 AX4N/4F50N—4-speed electronic transaxle
  • Ford Freestar, Ford Taurus, Ford Windstar, Lincoln Continental, Mercury Monterey, Mercury Sable
  • 1980–1994 FLC—3-speed hydraulic transaxle·Ford Escort, Ford Tempo, Mercury Topaz, Ford Taurus, Mercury Sable, and Ford EXP1989–1997 4EAT-G—4-speed Mazda design transaxle Ford Probe
  • 1990–2003 F-4EAT—4-speed electronic transaxle—Replaces the FLC transaxle Ford Escort, Mercury Tracer
  • 1994–2007 CD4E—4-speed transaxle, Batavia Transmission—Replaces the 4EAT-G transaxle Ford Contour, Ford Escape, Ford Mondeo, Ford Probe, Mercury Cougar, Mercury Mariner, Mercury Mystique, Mazda Tribute, Mazda 626
  • 2004–2010 5R110W – 5-speed automatic with Tow/Haul mode – Replaces 4R100 in Super Duty trucks Ford Super Duty2011–present 6R140 - 6-speed automatic with Tow/Haul mode - Replaces 5R110W in Super Duty trucks. As of 2011 only transmission(manual or automatic) available in Ford Super Duty trucks.[2]2005–present Aisin AWF-21 6-speed Lincoln MKZ (2006-2010), Land Rover LR2
  • 2005–2007 ZF-Batavia CFT30—Continuously variable transaxle (CVT)·Ford Freestyle, Ford Five Hundred, Mercury Montego
  • 2005–present 6R60 ZF 6-speed transmission Ford Falcon (BF, FG) Ford Territory (AWD)Lincoln Navigator 
  • 2006–present 6R60 6-speed transmission Ford Explorer,
  • 2007–present 6R80 6-speed transmission Ford Expedition, Lincoln Navigator, 2009 Ford F-Series, 2011 Ford Mustang (V6 & GT), 
  • 2011 Ford Territory, 2011 Ford Ranger (Note: Global excluding USA)
  • 2007–present 6F50—6-speed transaxle, Van Dyke Transmission Ford Edge, Ford Explorer, Lincoln MKX, Lincoln MKS, Ford Taurus, Ford Flex, Lincoln MKT, Lincoln MKZ (2010-Present)
  • 2009–present 6F35—6-speed transaxle, Van Dyke Transmission Ford Escape, Ford Fusion
  • 2009–present 6F55—6-speed transaxle (designed for use with the 3.5L Ecoboost V6) Lincoln MKS, Ford Flex, Ford Taurus SHO, Lincoln MKT

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Transmissions - Automobile in Plantation FL


Electronic Diagnostics
Performance Check

Road Test

Insurance Accepted

1 Year-12,000
Miles Warranty



Auto & Truck
Transmission Experts

Truck Transmission Maintenance

Mercedes-Benz M156 AMG 6.3L V8 DOHC Engine Cutmodel photographed in Tokyo Motor Show 2007 author:Hatsukari715

The C6 core components were used to build Ford's first electronically controlled automatic transmission.

The E4OD was introduced in 1989 and used in both light and heavy duty applications.

The E40D has four forward speeds and electronic shift controls replacing the hydraulic governor control mechanism of the C6.